There Is No Other (LP)

There Is No Other (LP) cover
$50.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

Rhiannon Giddens with Francesco Turrisi
There Is No Other (LP)

[ Nonesuch / Warner / 2 LP ]

Release Date: Friday 13 September 2019

Produced by Joe Henry and tracked over an intensely productive five-day period in Dublin, Ireland, There Is No Other is at once a condemnation of "othering" and a celebration of the spread of ideas, connectivity, and shared experience.

Tracing the overlooked movement of sounds from Africa and the Arabic world and their influence on European and American music, There Is No Other illuminates the universality of music and the commonality of the human experience. It primarily features only Giddens and Turrisi playing one or two instruments together.

There is no Other was recorded with little editing and overdubbing. Giddens sings and plays minstrel banjo, octave violin, and viola. Turrisi plays piano, accordion, frame drum, tamburello, lute, cello banjo, daf, and colascione. They are joined on four songs by Kate Ellis on cello.

This special 2LP vinyl edition includes 4 previously unreleased tracks and new liner notes written by Rhiannon and Francesco.


A1. Ten Thousand Voices
A2. I'm Gonna Write Me a Letter
A3. Wayfaring Stranger
A4. There Is No Other
B1. Trees On The Mountains
B2. Pizzica di San Vito
B3. Brown Baby
B4. Briggs' Forró
C1. Little Margaret
C2. Black Swan
C3. I'm On My Way
C4. He Will See You Through
D1. Hard Times/Camptown Hornpipe (with Francesco Turrisi) D2. Beth Cohen's Set (with Francesco Turrisi)
D3. Spiritual (with Francesco Turrisi)
D4. As You Wish

I'm On My Way