Body Beat: Soca-Dub And Electronic Calypso (1979-98) (LP)

Body Beat: Soca-Dub And Electronic Calypso (1979-98) (LP) cover
$55.00 Low Stock add to cart

Various Artists
Body Beat: Soca-Dub And Electronic Calypso (1979-98) (LP)

[ Soundway / 2 LP ]

Release Date: Friday 25 October 2019

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 5 business days.

17 obscure Soca B-side versions, dubs, instrumentals and edits as well as vocal tracks influenced by disco, boogie, house-music, soul and the more conscious lyrics of roots reggae. Owing as much to New York, Toronto and London as to the Caribbean cities of Port of Spain, Bridgetown and Kingstown this compilation traces the genre from its explosion in the late 1970s right up to the period just before contemporary soca became established around the end of the 1990s.

Soca was originally a re-invention of Calypso music; a genre that in the 1970s was fast becoming usurped around the Caribbean by Jamaican reggae and American soul, funk and later disco. The originator of soca (or sokah as he called it), the calypsonian Lord Shorty, began experimenting and modernising on the formulation of calypso in the early 1970s. His first album featured a strong emphasis on East African rhythms and a punchier recording style that emphasised the beat and introduced arrangements that often owed as much to American funk and soul as to calypso.

Filled with up-tempo tracks from start to finish, the compilation's lead single "I Want Your Love" by Peter Britto is a soca-house number which originally came out on NYC-based label Hometown Music in 1998. It features the recognisable soca synth beat, along with Caribbean steel drums and horns - but with the obvious influence of New York's booming house scene, making it an ultimate crossover track for club dance floors and carnivals alike.


A1. Cito Jarvis - Fighting Soldier
A2. Roger Bain - Stand Up & Rock Your Body (Instrumental)
A3. *D* Ivan - Fire (Extended Dub Edit)
B1. Bill Campbell - Body Beat
B2. Brother Resistance - Move It (Version)
B3. Adonijah - It's Alright
C1. Peter Britto - I Want Your Love
C2. Juno D - Hotter And Hotter (Dub Edit)
C3. Colin Jackman - D'Jab Jab Dance (Bad Lad Mix)
D1. Levi John - S-O-C-A
D2. Spiking - Liberation Train
E1. Mohjah - Zion Gates (Dub)
E2. Andre Tanker - Wild Indian Band
E3. Touch - Touch Music (Edit)
F1. D' Rebel Band - Solid
F2. The Millers - Last Days
F3. Chocolate Affaire - Jump To Calypso