In Space

In Space cover
$32.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Big Star
In Space

[ ADA / Warner / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 25 October 2019

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 4 - 7 business days.

Big Star formed in 1971, and in their brief 4 years together, created 3 albums that consistently make "Best of All-Time" lists. 18 years after officially disbanding, original members Alex Chilton and Jody Stephens joined forces with The Posies' Jon Auer and Ken Stringfellow for a live performance, which led to a tour (documented on Omnivore Recordings' Live In Memphis), and years of concerts. While the live shows were a joy and surprise, a bigger surprise happened in 2005. After over a decade playing together: a new studio album.

The new line up was creating a new chapter for the band while minding and honouring its past. With original vinyl going for outrageous prices, In Space returns as an LP on translucent blue vinyl, and expanded CD with 6 bonus tracks including "Hot Thing" (previously available on the out-of-print Big Star Story) and 5 previously unissued demos and alternate mixes.


1. Dony
2. Lady Sweet
3. Best Chance We've Ever Had
4. Turn My Back On The Sun
5. Love Revolution
6. February's Quiet
7. Mine Exclusively
8. A Whole New Thing
9. Aria Largo
10. Hung Up With Summer
11. Do You Wanna Make It
12. Makeover
13. Hot Thing
14. Dony (Alternate)
15. February's Quiet (Jody/Jon Demo) [Bonus Track]
16. Lady Sweet (Jon Auer Sketch #1) [Bonus Track]
17. Lady Sweet (Jon Auer Sketch #3) [Bonus Track] 18. Turn My Back on the Sun (Alternate)