The Soft Parade (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

The Soft Parade (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) cover
$135.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

The Doors
The Soft Parade (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

[ Rhino / Warner / 4 LP/CD ]

Release Date: Friday 1 November 2019

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 5 business days.

The Doors' fourth studio album, The Soft Parade, became the band's fourth straight Top Ten album when it was released 50 years ago on July 18, 1969. Despite featuring one of the group's biggest hits ("Touch Me"), it remains the most-polarizing record of The Doors' career thanks to the brass and string arrangements that embellish several tracks.

The core of the new collection is comprised of more than a dozen unreleased songs. Among the highlights are stripped down "Doors Only" versions of five tracks where the horns and strings have been removed ("Tell All The People," "Touch Me," "Wishful Sinful," "Runnin' Blue," and "Who Scared You"). The set also features three of those stripped-back versions with new guitar parts added by Robby Krieger ("Touch Me," "Wishful Sinful," and "Runnin' Blue).

The collection also uncovers three songs from studio rehearsals, with Ray Manzarek (a.k.a. Screamin' Ray Daniels) on vocals, that include an early version of "Roadhouse Blues", a song that would be released the following year on Morrison Hotel. These three songs include newly recorded bass parts by Robert DeLeo of Stone Temple Pilots, who joined Krieger and John Densmore at a tribute concert for Manzarek in 2016, three years after the organist died of cancer.

A trio of studio outtakes collected on the set's final disc feature the much-bootlegged, hour-long jam "Rock Is Dead", which appears here in its entire form for the first time ever. The track finds The Doors riffing through the entire history of rock 'n' roll, from early delta blues through surf music, ending with the death of rock.


1. Tell All The People
2. Touch Me
3. Shaman's Blues
4. Do It
5. Easy Ride
6. Wild Child
7. Runnin' Blue
8. Wishful Sinful
9. The Soft Parade
10. Who Scared You

1. Tell All the People
2. Touch Me (Doors Only Mix)
3. Runnin' Blue (Doors Only Mix)
4. Wishful Sinful (Doors Only Mix)
5. Who Scared You
6. Roadhouse Blues (Screamin' Ray Daniels a.k.a. Ray Manzarek On Vocals)
7. (You Need Meat) Don't Go No Further [Screamin' Ray Daniels a.k.a. Ray Manzarek On Vocals]
8. I'm Your Doctor (Screamin' Ray Daniels a.k.a. Ray Manzarek On Vocals)
9. Touch Me (Without Horns & Strings)
10. Runnin' Blue (Without Horns)
11. Wishful Sinful (Without Horns & Strings)

1. I Am Troubled
2. Seminary School (a.k.a. Petition the Lord with Prayer)
3. Rock Is Dead
4. Chaos

A1. Tell All The People
A2. Touch Me
A3. Shaman's Blues
A4. Do It
A5. Easy Ride
B1. Wild Child
B2. Runnin' Blue
B3. Wishful Sinful
B4. The Soft Parade