Smokers Delight (25th Anniversary Edition Double Gatefold LP)

Smokers Delight (25th Anniversary Edition Double Gatefold LP) cover
$60.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

Nightmares On Wax
Smokers Delight (25th Anniversary Edition Double Gatefold LP)

[ Warp / 2 LP ]

Release Date: Friday 3 April 2020

Nightmares on Wax is celebrating the 25th anniversary of the seminal Smokers Delight with a new one-off edition reissue.

Smokers Delight was the breakthrough record for Nightmares On Wax. It signalled a new approach after the more dance floor focused debut A Word of Science. Alongside Massive Attack's Protection, Portishead's Dummy and Tricky's Maxinquaye it was one of a handful of records to define a generation.

The reissue includes two completely new bonus tracks, alongside an alternative funk mix of Dreddoverboard and a luxurious, sprawling live take of the timeless Nights Introlude, recorded in 2014.

The music Nightmares On Wax made in the 90s was radical for the way that it spliced together sonic styles with aptitude. George Evelyn created a bold vision for the post-genre future here - one that still exerts great influence over many contemporary artists.

Recorded with long term collaborators Chris Dawkins on guitar, Hamlet Luton on bass, Robin Taylor-Firth on keys and Shovell on percussion; music lovers from around the world were intoxicated by this bassy, afterhours sound that became the backdrop to a million late night living room sessions.

"Pulling from the same influences that defined the late 1980s rave explosion... reconfigured the UK's summer of love for the Discman generation while remaining just as suited to chill-out room comedowns or Ibiza sunset sessions." - Fact Magazine


A1 Nights Introlude
A2 Dreddoverboard
A3 Pipes Honour
B1 Me and You
B2 Stars
B3 Wait a Minute / Praying for a Jeepbeat
B4 Groove St.
C1 Time (to Listen)
C2 (Man) tha Journey
C3 Bless My Soul
C4 Cruise (Don't Stop)
D1 Mission Venice
D2 What I'm Feelin (Good)
D3 Rise
D4 Rise (Reprise)
D5 Gambia via Vagator Beach
* Bonus Tracks on Download Card
1 Aquaself
2 Let's Ascend
3 Dreddoverboard (Funk Mix)
4 Nights Introlude (Live in Chicago)