Fetch The Bolt Cutters (Deluxe CD/Book)

Fetch The Bolt Cutters (Deluxe CD/Book) cover
$125.00 In stock with supplier
ETA: 2-5 business days
add to cart more by this artist

Fiona Apple
Fetch The Bolt Cutters (Deluxe CD/Book)

[ Epic / CD/Book ]

Release Date: Friday 17 July 2020

We don’t have this item in our warehouse or stores at the moment, but the supplier has stock. We should be able to get it to you in 2 - 5 business days from when you order it.

5 x 8 inch black cloth bound 40 page book, includes sticker sheet and two polaroid sized art cards. Fetch The Bolt Cutters is the fifth studio album and her first release since 'The Idler Wheel' in 2012. The album was recorded from 2015 to 2020, largely at Apple's home in Venice Beach. It was produced and performed by Apple alongside Amy Aileen Wood, Sebastian Steinberg and Davíd Garza; recording consisted of long, often-improvised takes with unconventional percussive sounds.

Fetch The Bolt Cutters has been noted for its experimental approach to pop music. It defies genre categorisation, and critics have noted its originality. Nevertheless, it has been compared to the works of Joni Mitchell, Tom Waits, Nina Simone, and Kate Bush, who is quoted on the title track.

The album often rejects popular music's traditional verse-chorus structure. The unpredictable songs feature looped sections, sudden stops and tempo changes. Apple's long-time bassist Sebastian Steinberg compared the album to Apple's 2012 song "Hot Knife", describing it as "very raw and unslick". It has been noted as less melancholy than Apple's past work, with the up-tempo songs being described as "funny, angry, and at times triumphant". The album features frequent improvisation, as well as background noise such as the barking of dogs, largely as a result of its home recording.


1. I Want You To Love Me
2. Shameika
3. Fetch The Bolt Cutters
4. Under The Table
5. Relay
6. Rack Of His
7. Newspaper
8. Ladies
9. Heavy Balloon
10. Cosmonauts
11. For Her
12. Drumset
13. On I Go

Fetch The Bolt Cutters