Workingman's Dead 50th Anniversary Edition

Workingman's Dead 50th Anniversary Edition cover
$30.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Grateful Dead
Workingman's Dead 50th Anniversary Edition

[ Rhino / Warner / 3 CD ]

Release Date: Friday 10 July 2020

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 5 business days.

On June 14, 1970, the Grateful Dead released Workingman's Dead, an album that was unlike anything they'd ever done, one that showed the world a new side of the Dead. It was clearly the same band as before, but now with a distinctly different sound and approach to the music, pivoting from psychedelic improvisation to folk-rock storytelling for the "everyman," as the album's title suggests.

Workingman's Dead will celebrate its 50th anniversary with two new releases.

3CD set includes the original album with newly remastered sound, plus an unreleased concert recorded on February 21, 1971 at the Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, NY. The show was mixed from the 16-track analogue master tapes by Jeffrey Norman at Bob Weir's Marin County TRI Studios and mastered by Grammy® Award-winning engineer, David Glasser.


[CD1: Original Album Remastered]
1. Uncle John's Band
2. High Time
3. Dire Wolf
4. New Speedway Boogie
5. Cumberland Blues
6. Black Peter
7. Easy Wind
8. Casey Jones

[CD2: Capitol Theatre, Port Chester, NY (2/21/71)]
1. Cold Rain And Snow
2. Me And Bobby McGee
3. Loser
4. Easy Wind
5. Playing In The Band
6. Bertha
7. Me And My Uncle
8. Ripple (False Start)
9. Ripple
10. Next Time You See Me
11. Sugar Magnolia
12. Greatest Story Ever Told
13. Johnny B. Goode

[CD3: Capitol Theatre, Port Chester, NY (2/21/71)]
1. China Cat Sunflower
2. I Know You Rider
3. Bird Song
4. Cumberland Blues
5. I'm A King Bee
6. Beat It On Down The Line
7. Wharf Rat
8. Truckin'
9. Casey Jones
10. Good Lovin'
11. Uncle John's Band