Lola Versus Powerman And The Moneygoround, Pt. 1 (LP)

Lola Versus Powerman And The Moneygoround, Pt. 1 (LP) cover
$45.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

The Kinks
Lola Versus Powerman And The Moneygoround, Pt. 1 (LP)

[ ADA / Warner / LP ]

Release Date: Friday 11 December 2020

Kinks - Lola versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One, commonly abbreviated to Lola Versus Powerman, or just Lola, is the eighth studio album by British rock band the Kinks, recorded and released in 1970. A concept album, it is a satirical appraisal of the music industry, including song publishers, unions, the press, accountants, business managers, and life on the road.

Although it appeared during a transitional period for the Kinks, Lola Versus Powerman was a success both critically and commercially for the group, charting in the Top 40 in America and helping restore them in the public eye, making it a "comeback" album. It contained two hit singles: 'Lola', which reached the #9 US, #2 UK and Germany - becoming the Kinks' biggest success since 'Sunny Afternoon' in 1966 - and 'Apeman', which peaked at #5 in the UK and Germany. The track 'Lola', written by Ray Davies, allegedly details a romantic encounter between a young man and a possible trans-gender person whom he meets in a club in Soho, London.


A1. The Contenders
A2. Strangers
A3. Denmark Street
A4. Get Back In Line
A5. Lola
A6. Top Of The Pops
A7. The Moneygoround
B1. This Time Tomorrow
B2. A Long Way From Home
B3. Rats
B4. Apeman
B5. Powerman
B6. Got To Be Free