Lola versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Deluxe Box Set)

Lola versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Deluxe Box Set) cover
$120.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

The Kinks
Lola versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One (Deluxe Box Set)

[ ADA / Warner / Multi-Format Box Set ]

Release Date: Friday 18 December 2020

Kinks - Lola versus Powerman and The Moneygoround, Part One, commonly abbreviated to Lola Versus Powerman, or just Lola, is the eighth studio album by British rock band the Kinks, recorded and released in 1970. A concept album, it is a satirical appraisal of the music industry, including song publishers, unions, the press, accountants, business managers, and life on the road.

Although it appeared during a transitional period for the Kinks, Lola Versus Powerman was a success both critically and commercially for the group, charting in the Top 40 in America and helping restore them in the public eye, making it a "comeback" album. It contained two hit singles: 'Lola', which reached the #9 US, #2 UK and Germany - becoming the Kinks' biggest success since 'Sunny Afternoon' in 1966 - and 'Apeman', which peaked at #5 in the UK and Germany. The track 'Lola', written by Ray Davies, allegedly details a romantic encounter between a young man and a possible trans-gender person whom he meets in a club in Soho, London.

3 x CDs containing the original album new remaster from original HD master tapes, singles (stereo and mono mixes), B-sides, alternate original mixes, new medleys with Ray & Dave Davies conversations, new Ray Davies remixes & original session out-takes, previously unreleased session & live tape audio, instrumental & acoustic versions, previously unreleased demos & BBC material. 2 x reproduced original 7" picture bag singles, remastered audio. 60-page, hardback book with extensive notes, new band quotes, Kinks '1970 diary', rare photos & memorabilia. 4 x small glossy printed kinks photos.


CD 1

1. The Contenders
2. Strangers
3. Denmark Street
4. Get Back In Line
5. Lola
6. Top Of The Pops
7. The Moneygoround
8. This Time Tomorrow
9. A Long Way From Home
10. Rats
11. Apeman
12. Powerman
13. Got To Be Free

Alternate Versions

14. Lola (Mono Single Mix)
15. Apeman (UK Mono Single Mix)
16. Rats (Mono Single Mix
17. Powerman (Mono Mix)
18. Apeman (Alternate Version, Stereo)
19. The Moneygoround (Alternate Version, Mono)

CD 2

Alternate Versions / New Medleys & Mixes / Demos / Film Soundtrack

1. This Time Tomorrow (Alternate Take, 2020 Mix)
2. Top Of The Pops (2020 Mix)
3. Lola/Radio Spot, Edit (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
4. Got To Be Free (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
5. The Contenders (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
6. The Good Life (2020 Mix)
7. Apeman (Unplugged Live Version)
8. Get Back In Line (Live Version)
9. Marathon (Edit, from The Long Distance Piano Player)
10. Got To Be Free (Edit, from The Long Distance Piano Player)
11. Lola (Ray Davies & Band with The Danish National Chamber Orchestra & The Danish National Vocal Ensemble)
12. The Good Life
13. Apeman (US Mono Single Mix)
14. Moments (2020 Mix)
15. This Time Tomorrow & Cassette Demos Medley (Ray's Kitchen Sink)

CD 3

Alternate Versions / New Medleys & Mixes / Demos / Live

1. Get Back In Line (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
2. Rats (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
3. Rats (2020 Mix)
4. Powerman (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
5. Powerman (2020 Mix)
6. The Contenders (Instrumental Demo)
7. Anytime
8. A Long Way From Home (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
9. A Long Way From Home (Live, Austin City Limits, 2006)
10. Strangers (Ray's Kitchen Sink)
11. Strangers (2020 Stereo Mix)
12. The Way Love Used To Be (2020 Monitor Mix)
13. Apeman (Morgan Studios Run-Through)
14. Radio Spot/Live, Queens College, Flushing, NY, 1971 15. The Follower -
Anytime 2020 (featuring Anytime by The Kinks)

Seven inch singles

Single 1 - 'Lola / Berkerley Mews
Single 2 - 'Apeman / Rats'