Sam Amidon (LP)

Sam Amidon (LP) cover
$50.00 Pre-order now
Available: Jan 22
add to cart more by this artist

Sam Amidon
Sam Amidon (LP)

[ Nonesuch / Warner / LP ]

Release Date: Friday 22 January 2021

Pre-order your copy NOW!

Sam Amidon considers his new self-titled album the fullest realization to date of his artistic vision. It comprises his radical reworkings of nine mostly traditional folk songs, performed with his band of long-time friends and collaborators. Amidon produced the record, applying the sonic universe of his 2017 'The Following Mountain' to these beloved tunes, many of which he first learned as a child.

Amidon and his frequent band of multi-instrumentalist Shahzad Ismaily and drummer Chris Vatalaro were joined in the studio by Belgian guitarist Bert Cools (who played on his last EP), as well as Amidon's wife, Beth Orton, who adds vocals on three songs. Acoustic bassist Ruth Goller and saxophonist and labelmate Sam Gendel also play on the album, which was mixed by Leo Abrahams. Sam Amidon was mostly recorded live in the studio. Amidon arranged the songs, which are traditional tunes, with the exception of Taj Mahal's 'Light Rain Blues', Harkins Frye's 'Time Has Made A Change', and 'Hallelujah', which is an 1835 William Walker shape-note tune using earlier words by Charles Wesley, found in the Sacred Harp collection of early American folk-hymns.

Sam Amidon is Amidon's fifth recording on Nonesuch and follows the 2019 EP Fatal Flower Garden (A Tribute to Harry Smith). Additional recordings include his 2017 album The Following Mountain and Kronos Quartet's Folk Songs the same year, on which he was a featured singer along with Rhiannon Giddens, Natalie Merchant, and Olivia Chaney; Lily-O in 2014; and his label debut, Bright Sunny South, in 2013.

Heavyweight blueberry coloured vinyl.


A1. Maggie
A2. Pretty Polly
A3. Light Rain Blues
A4. Spanish Merchant's Daughter
B1. Reuben
B2. Hallelujah
B3. Cuckoo
B4. Time Has Made A Change
B5. Sundown (feat. Beth Orton)