Curveball cover
$30.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist


[ Rattle Records / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 16 April 2021

2021 is Rattle's 30th anniversary as an advocate for New Zealand art-music, and they are marking the occasion with a new album from Gitbox, the band that kicked things off for the label three decades ago with their much-loved and widely acclaimed Pesky Digits, Rattle's very first release back in 1991.

As curveballs go, we couldn't have asked for a nicer one. The group's music is as unique and vibrant as ever, just as Rattle's enthusiasm for artists who follow their own compass is not only undiminished but even more determined as we move into our fourth decade.

Gitbox is comprised of ten acoustic guitarists who usually perform left to right in this order:
Russell Hughes, Joanne Melbourne, Tomislav Skulic, Rob Mita, Sonia Wilson, Bodie Hermans, Peter Kirkbride, Sam Loveridge, Kim Halliday and Nigel Gavin


Sanctuary 1 02:43
Absent Friend 04:59
Dusty Pinballs 04:41
Aspiration 02:26
Dhoggs (My Dog Doesn't Respect Me) 03:36
The Departure 08:14
Dusty Pinballs Return 04:55
Bug Fixes 05:26
Curveball 02:59
Three Pineapples, One Pomegranate 04:25
Galaxy No. 7 02:38
Guardian Angels 02:22
Sanctuary 2 02:56
Curveball 01:30
Galaxy No. 7 01:41
Three Pineapples, One Pomegranate 05:32
Dusty Pinballs Return 04:40
Aspiration 02:35
Absent Friend 05:21
A Terrible Flaw 03:23
Threnody for Francisco Mendez 06:38
Guardian Angels 08:11
Bug Fixes 05:45
The Good, the Bad and the Ugly 03:12