Buena Vista Social Club 25th Anniversary Edition (Deluxe CD/LP/Book)

Buena Vista Social Club 25th Anniversary Edition (Deluxe CD/LP/Book) cover
$180.00 In stock with supplier
ETA: 2-5 business days
add to cart more by this artist

Buena Vista Social Club
Buena Vista Social Club 25th Anniversary Edition (Deluxe CD/LP/Book)

[ World Circuit / Multi-Format Box Set ]

Release Date: Friday 17 September 2021

We don’t have this item in our warehouse or stores at the moment, but the supplier has stock. We should be able to get it to you in 2 - 5 business days from when you order it.

Remastered original album on CD & 180g vinyl with CD of previously unheard bonus tracks. 40-page book featuring new liner notes, photos, song notes, lyrics, biographies and a history of the original club. 2 x 12x12" art prints.

'Buena Vista Social Club' is both the name given to this extraordinary group of musicians and the album, recorded in just seven days in 1996 in Havana's 1950s vintage EGREM studios. It was clear from the atmosphere of the recording sessions that something very special was taking place. However, no one could have predicted that Buena Vista Social Club would become a worldwide phenomenon - awarded a Grammy in 1997 and, at 8 million copies, outselling any other record in the same genre.

The acclaim of the original album has elevated the artists (including Ibrahim Ferrer, Rubén González & Omara Portuondo) to superstar status, inspired an award-winning film by Wim Wenders, and has contributed to popularising Cuba's rich musical heritage. Produced by Ry Cooder for World Circuit, the timeless quality of the music and the sheer verve of the veteran performers have ensured that this will go down as one of the landmark recordings of the 20th century.

To celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the album's recording, producer Ry Cooder and World Circuit's Nick Gold have gone back to the original tapes and into the archive to produce these Deluxe Remaster packages, featuring previously unheard tracks from the original 1996 recording sessions, previously unseen photos, and new liner notes.


1. Chan Chan
2. De Camino a La Vereda
3. El Cuarto de Tula
4. Pueblo Nuevo
5. Dos Gardenias
6. ¿ Y Tú Qué Has Hecho?
7. Veinte Años
8. El Carretero
9. Candela
10. Amor de Loca Juventud
11. Orgullecida
12. Murmullo
13. Buena Vista Social Club
14. La Bayamesa

01. Chan Chan (Monitor Mix) *
02. Vicenta *
03. La Pluma *
04. Dos Gardenias (alternate take) *
05. Mandinga *
6. Siboney *
07. A Tus Pies *
08. El Carretero (alternate take) *
09. Ensayo *
10. El Diablo Suelto *
11. Saludo Compay *
12. Descripción De Un Sueño *
13. Pueblo Nuevo (alternate take) *
14. La Cleptómana *
15. Y Tú Qué Has Hecho? (alternate take) *
16. Orgullecida (alternate take) *
17. Descarga Rubén *
18. Candela (alternate take) *
19. Orgullecida (alternate trio take) *

1. Chan Chan
2. De Camino a La Vereda
3. El Cuarto de Tula
4. Pueblo Nuevo

1. Dos Gardenias
2. Y Tú Qué Has Hecho?
3. Veinte Años
4. El Carretero
5 . Candela

1. Amor de Loca Juventud
2. Orgullecida
3. Murmullo
4. Buena Vista Social Club
5. La Bayamesa

1. Vicenta *
2. La Pluma *
3. A Tus Pies *
4. La Cleptómana *
5. Orgullecida (alternate trio take) *