We Disappear (LP & 10")

We Disappear (LP & 10") cover
$65.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

The Bend
We Disappear (LP & 10")

[ Armchair Records / 2 LP ]

Release Date: Friday 4 June 2021

After thirty 'odd' years, The Bend (Fane Flaws, Tony Backhouse and Peter Dasent- all ex-Crocodiles) present We Disappear, an album of songs written from selected poems by legendary NZ poet Sam Hunt.

This strange project began in 1987 with iconic NZ drummer Bruno Lawrence on the kit (his last known sessions), a very young Jonathan Zwartz, fresh from the Sydney Conservatorium, on double bass and guest vocalist the late, great Rick Bryant joining Fane, Tony and Peter in the studio, resulting in six songs in the can.

After that the wheels fell off and financial and personal issues meant the project was first shelved, then lost. Twenty-five years later, the tapes were unearthed by Peter during a spring clean. The Bend had a listen and decided the project should be completed.

Another six songs were written and the original band reassembled (minus Bruno who had by then physically disappeared), with Sydney drummer Hamish Stuart becoming the new Bruno and part of the family. By this time Jonathan had become a standout musician/composer in the world of Australian jazz and his masterful playing is a highlight of the record.

The album also includes wonderful contributions by notable Australian and NZ artists including James Greening, Virna Sanzone, Lisa Spence, Jenny Morris, Margot Pierard, Anton Wuts, Nick Bollinger, Ross Burge, Craig Walters and Andrew Delahunty.

We Disappear, lovingly designed by Fane and pressed at Pallas in Germany, comes in a double
gatefold sleeve with:
1. a 10 track 12'' album on white vinyl
2. a 'double A side' 10" single on black vinyl with its own cover art
3. a 36 page booklet with sleeve-notes, photographs and illustrated lyrics.

"It is nearly five decades now that I first realised how well the poems of Sam Hunt could sing. The great Wellington band Mammal had set a bunch of them to music and were playing them in their mind-bending sets at the Victoria University union hall. Now The BEND, which includes one former Mammal along with members of the legendary BLERTA and luminous SPATS, have taken it to the next level with another dozen Sam songs. From the sublimely meditative 'Wave Song' to the eerie 'My White Ship'; the hallucinatory 'School Policy On Stickmen' (with a powerhouse vocal from Mammal's late Rick Bryant) to the inexorable forward motion of the title track, there are a few more decades of deep listening here". Nick Bollinger


Side 1
1 Black Cattle At Dawn Waiura (Flaws/Hunt) - 3.38
2 Wavesong (Backhouse/Flaws.Hunt) - 4.58
3 Forbidden Fruit (Flaws/Hunt) - 3.19
4 A Song About Her (Flaws/Hunt) - 3.58
5 My White Ship (Flaws/Hunt) - 5.32

Side 2
6 Everytime It Rains Like This (Backhouse/Hunt) - 4.34
7 Letter Home (Flaws/Hunt) - 4.29
8 We Disappear (Flaws/Hunt) - 3.35
9 Walking The Morning City (Flaws/Hunt) - 4.11
10 Meeting An Old Love (Dasent/Hunt) - 1.11

11 Beware The Man (Backhouse/Hunt) - 4.20
12 School Policy On Stickmen (Flaws/Hunt) - 5.26