Bob Stanley and Martin Green present: Choctaw Ridge: New Fables of the American South 1968-1973 (LP)

Bob Stanley and Martin Green present: Choctaw Ridge: New Fables of the American South 1968-1973 (LP) cover
$60.00 Low Stock add to cart

Various Artists
Bob Stanley and Martin Green present: Choctaw Ridge: New Fables of the American South 1968-1973 (LP)

[ Ace Records / 2 LP ]

Release Date: Friday 13 August 2021

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 4 - 7 business days.

"Choctaw Ridge" explores a new country sound, one that emerged at the end of the 60s in the wake of Bobbie Gentry's 'Ode To Billie Joe', a shock number one hit in 1967. When singers like Gentry, Jimmy Webb, Michael Nesmith and Lee Hazlewood moved from the south to Los Angeles to make it in the music business, they were not part of the Nashville in-crowd and they forged a new direction.

'Ode To Billie Joe' was the tip of the iceberg, and its success helped a bunch of singers and storytellers to emerge over the next three or four years. Some of the tracks on this collection bear that song's stamp more clearly than others: Sammi Smith's moody 'Saunders' Ferry Lane' had a similar mystery lyric, and Henson Cargill's 'Four Shades Of Love' is a portmanteau, with one (or possibly two) of the theoretically romantic situations ending in death.

Suddenly, character sketches of southerners became a lot more rounded - women didn't have to stay home, or take abuse at the office, and darkness wasn't only found at the bottom of a bottle. Storytelling is the link between all of the songs on this collection. We have cautionary tales about what could happen to someone who heads for the bright lights and doesn't make it, ending up in the grasping hands of 'Mr Walker' (Billie Joe Spears), or on the 'Back Side Of Dallas' (Jeannie C Reilly), or on a mortuary slab in the case of the songwriter with the 'Fabulous Body And Smile' (Robert Charles Griggs). And there are stories about wanting to go home - Nat Stuckey's 'What Am I Doing In LA?' and Charlie Rich's 'Feel Like Going Home' - and others from Ed Bruce and Lee Hazlewood, who know that their home isn't home anymore.

The tracklist and fulsome sleeve notes have been put together by Bob Stanley (Saint Etienne) and Martin Green (Smashing, The Sound Gallery), who have been collecting these records for decades.

The voices are resonant and relatable, and the productions take in the best of what pop had to offer in the late 60s and early 70s. Before the factionalism between smooth pop-conscious Nashville and the hedonistic 'outlaws' made it look inward again, this was a golden era for an atmospheric, inclusive and progressive country music. It began on the third of June, another sleepy, dusty Delta day.


01. The House Song - Lee Hazlewood
02. If Only She Had Stayed - Chris Gantry
03. Endless Miles Of Highway - Jerry Reed
04. The Back Side Of Dallas - Jeannie C Riley
05. Way Before The Time Of Towns - Hoyt Axton
06. Strawberry Farms - Tom T Hall
07. Down From Dover - Dolly Parton
08. July 12, 1939 - Charlie Rich
09. What Am I Doing In LA? - Nat Stuckey
10. Mr Stanton Don't Believe It - Rob Galbraith
11. Saunders' Ferry Lane - Sammi Smith
12. Four Shades Of Love - Henson Cargill
13. Drivin' Nails In The Wall - Waylon Jennings & The Kimberlys
14. Ruby, Don't Take Your Love To Town - Kenny Rogers & The First Edition
15. Why Can't I Come Home - Ed Bruce
16. Mr Walker, It's All Over - Billie Jo Spears
17. Harlan County - Jim Ford
18. Widow Wimberly - Tony Joe White
19. Belinda (Alt take) - Bobbie Gentry
20. Joanne - Michael Nesmith & The First National Band
21. Mr Jackson's Got Nothing To Do - John Hartford
22. Alone - Lee Hazlewood & Suzi Jane Hokom
23. Fabulous Body And Smile - Sir Robert Charles Griggs
24. I Feel Like Going Home - Charlie Rich