Mess Esque

Mess Esque cover
$45.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

Mess Esque
Mess Esque

[ Drag City / LP ]

Release Date: Friday 22 October 2021

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 1 - 2 weeks from when you place your order.

Just in time for the world that's coming are a bewitching new duo from Australia. Featuring music and instruments by Mick Turner and words and voice by Helen Franzmann, Mess Esque's debut album restlessly wanders through a series of intimate dialogues.

Helen lives in Brisbane, Mick in Melbourne. Mick's played guitar for years, collaborating with loads of talented others; he's perhaps best known as one third of Dirty Three.

In 2019, Mick was introduced to Helen through a mutual friend who'd produced the last McKisko album, the name Helen has worked under over the past 12 years, making records, and touring regularly. With a plan to get together and make a record, they sent ideas back and forth - but when everything else happened instead, they continued to collaborate from a distance. In mutual isolation, a true correspondence took flight, electrifying in the air between them.


A1. Green Corn
A2. The Moron Brothers
A3. Showerdays
A4. Food, Sex, & Ewe
A5. Just The Flu
A6. El Lay
A7. New Boobs
B1. Cheese/Where's My Slice?
B2. Together On The Sand
B3. Nowhere
B4. Brain Constipation
B5. Gonoherpasyphlaids
B6. I Don't Want You Around
B7. The Malachi Crunch