The Abominable (Limited 12")

The Abominable (Limited 12") cover
$45.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

El Michels Affair
The Abominable (Limited 12")

[ Big Crown / 12in ]

Release Date: Friday 26 November 2021

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 5 business days.

El Michels Affair follows up the massive success of their full length Yeti Season with The Abominable EP. A collection of unreleased tracks, alternate takes, and instrumentals from the Yeti Season recording sessions. EMA's blending their signature cinematic soul sound with influences from Turkish Funk and the grittiest of Bollywood soundtracks yielded an instant classic The Fader calls "a carnival of dusty funk and soul".

The EP starts off with the unreleased gem "Messy Grass" whose synth intro, peppered with distant yeti cries, gives way to a tremendous backing track that Tamer Pinarbasi's Qanun dances over. On "Cham Cham" EMA invites Piya Malik to the microphone again to share her styled storytelling vocals over the instrumental track from Yeti Season's "Perfect Harmony". Where some of the tunes on the EP have vocals added, some of them have them removed letting the band take center stage; "Poison Song", "Uncut Gem", "Smoked", and "Progress" are all instrumental here giving them a wholly different energy than the vocal versions.


A1. Messy Grass
A2. Cham Cham feat. Piya Malik
A3. Poison Song
A4. Uncut Gem
A5. Idhar Udhar
B1. Smoked
B2. Progress
B3. Running Hot
B4. Nasir