Sweet Paname (CD & Book)

Sweet Paname (CD & Book) cover
$45.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

Sonia Wilson
Sweet Paname (CD & Book)

[ Book ]

Release Date: Friday 3 March 2023

Born on the rue des Martyrs in Paris, France to American parents, Sonia Wilson's life has been a whirlwind of creative leaps: from circus to gymnastics, theatre, gospel and a capella choirs, sign language, instrumental music, song writing, sound healing, travel, teaching and art-based community building, hers is an ongoing quest to leave each place a little better than she found it.

Music has taken her from the streets of Paris, across Kenyan savannah, through remote Himalayan villages, and eventually to New Zealand where she found her place, and her partner in heart and music, Nigel Gavin.
A book, music album and art exhibit all-in-one, this project was inspired by her desire to acknowledge and celebrate her French roots, while putting her own storytelling process at the service of showcasing a number of other musicians and visual artists met along the way.

Produced by John Egenes in Dunedin with the support of Stephen Stedman and the University of Otago, Sweet Paname is the first bilingual French/English album of the Sonia & Nigel duo.

Musicians include Sonia Wilson (lead and harmony vocals, guitar and ukulele), Nigel Gavin (7-string guitar, electric guitar, 11-string glissentar, loops, bass and ukulele), Tracey Collins (accordion), Gunnar Ellwanger (vocal lead & harmonies), Helen Webby (harp), Pascal Roggen (violin) & Anna Bowen (fiddle and vocal harmonies).

The accompanying book features lyrics, stories, photos and custom-made song illustrations by 15+ international artists that Sonia met on her travels between Paris and New Zealand. Graphic design by Karen Sheckler Wilson.


1 Ma Vie en jeu
2 Sous le ciel de Paris
3 Comme toi
4 Room to Breathe
Dans la brise
5 Les Champs-Élysées
6 When I See Paris again
7 La Mer
8 Le Temps de l'amour
9 La Vie en rose
10 La Seine
11 Fort intérieur
12 Sweet Paname
13 Tout le monde