Accentuate The Positive

Accentuate The Positive cover
$33.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

Van Morrison
Accentuate The Positive

[ Virgin / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 3 November 2023

Like this year's acclaimed 'Moving On Skiffle', 'Accentuate The Positive' sees Van Morrison returning to one of his childhood passions: this time rock 'n' roll. Growing up in Belfast shortly after World War II, he was immensely inspired by the heady sounds of 20th century blues and rock 'n' roll. Listening to artists such as Fats Domino, Chuck Berry and The Everly Brothers, it wasn't long until Van was intuitively reinterpreting these sounds with his own band in local hometown venues.

Several decades later, Van Morrison now revisits the genre by reimagining some of his personal favourites for 'Accentuate The Positive', and infusing those timeless songs with an energy that constantly challenges and expands upon its traditions. Van's inimitable voice combined with superb arrangements and highly accomplished brings a fresh zeal to such great songs as The Johnny Burnette Trio's, 'Lonesome Train', JohnnyKidd & The Pirates', 'Shakin' All Over' and Big Joe Turner's pioneering rock 'n' roll hit, 'Flip, Flop and Fly'.

Contributors to the album include electric guitar from the late Jeff Beck and vocals from Chris Farlowe on, 'Lonesome Train', plus guitar from Taj Mahal on, 'Lucille' and, 'Shake, Rattle and Roll'.


1. You Are My Sunshine
2. When Will I Be Loved
3. Two Hound Dogs
4. Flip, Flop and Fly
5. I Want a Roof Over My Head
6. Problems
7. Hang Up My Rock And Roll Shoes
8. The Shape I'm In
9. Accentuate The Positive
10. Lonesome Train
11. A Shot of Rhythm and Blues
12. Shakin' All Over
13. Bye, Bye Johnny
14. Red Sails in the Sunset
15. Sea of Heartbreak
16. Blueberry Hill
17. Bonaparte's Retreat
18. Lucille
19. Shake, Rattle and Roll