The Collective

The Collective cover
$25.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Kim Gordon
The Collective

[ Matador / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 8 March 2024

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 5 business days.

"Pairing blown-out trap beats and industrial noise with deadpan stream-of-consciousness lyrics, Gordon's second solo album revels in the broken and the mundane" - Pitchfork

Legendary musician and multi-disciplinary artist Kim Gordon returns with her second solo album, The Collective, released March 8th on Matador. Recorded in her native Los Angeles, The Collective follows Gordon's 2019 full-length debut No Home Record and continues her collaboration with producer Justin Raisen (Lil Yachty, John Cale, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Charli XCX, Yves Tumor), with additional production from Anthony Paul Lopez. The album advances their joint world building, with Raisin's damaged, blown out dub and trap constructions playing the foil to Gordon's intuitive word collages and hooky mantras, which conjure communication, commercial sublimation and sensory overload.

"On this record, I wanted to express the absolute craziness I feel around me right now," says Gordon. "This is a moment when nobody really knows what truth is, when facts don't necessarily sway people, when everyone has their own side, creating a general sense of paranoia. To soothe, to dream, escape with drugs, TV shows, shopping, the internet, everything is easy, smooth, convenient, branded. It made me want to disrupt, to follow something unknown, maybe even to fail."


1 Bye Bye
2 The Candy House
3 I Don't Miss My Mind
4 I'm A Man
5 Trophies
6 It's Dark Inside
7 Psychedelic Orgasm
8 Tree House
9 Shelf Warmer
10 The Believers
11 Dream Dollar