Plastic Beach

Plastic Beach cover $30.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Plastic Beach

[ CD ]

Release Date: Friday 28 March 2014

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 4 - 7 business days.

The most ambitious & groundbreaking Gorillaz album to date, featuring: Lou Reed; Mick Jones; Paul Simonon; Snoop Dogg; Mark E Smith; De La Soul; Mos Def; Bobby Womack; National Orchestra of Arabic Music; and the Hypnotic Brass Ensemble.

Gorillaz are back. 'Plastic Beach' represents their most ambitious & groundbreaking album to date. It features a roster of contributors so diverse it numbers not just Lou Reed; Snoop Dogg; Mark E Smith; De La Soul; Mos Def; and Bobby Womack, but also The National Orchestra of Arabic Music; and the Hypnotic Brass Ensemble, a Chicago-based nine-piece jazz / hip-hop group. Finally, this disc also sees the re-appearance of Mick Jones & Paul Simonon, playing together for the first time since their time together in The Clash.

'Plastic Beach' represents Gorillaz' high-water mark. A 16-track tour through pop; rap; dub; soul; and electronica, from East to West and a whole lot more.

Like the group's (fictional) leader & bassist, Murdoc, says: "You're either alive or you're not. You're either on the ride or not. The rest of it is just whimsical etchings on the cave walls inside of the human skull, just someone trying to decorate their cage, keep themselves entertained while they're here. The album's coming out. And it makes 'Demon Days' seem like a warm up act. So at least I can say we've stepped our game up..."


1. Orchestral Intro (featuring Sinfonia ViVA)
2. Welcome to the World of the Plastic Beach (featuring Snoop Dogg & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
3. White Flag (featuring Kano, Bashy & The National Orchestra for Arabic Music)
4. Rhinestone Eyes
5. Stylo (featuring Bobby Womack & Mos Def)
6. Superfast Jellyfish (featuring Gruff Rhys & De La Soul)
7. Empire Ants (featuring Little Dragon)
8. Glitter Freeze (featuring Mark E Smith)
9. Some Kind of Nature (featuring Lou Reed)
10. On Melancholy Hill
11. Broken
12. Sweepstakes (featuring Mos Def & Hypnotic Brass Ensemble)
13. Plastic Beach (featuring Mick Jones & Paul Simonon)
14. To Binge (featuring Little Dragon)
15. Cloud of Unknowing (featuring Bobby Womack & Sinfonia ViVA)
16. Pirate Jet