Paper Airplane (LP)

Paper Airplane (LP) cover
$40.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

Alison Krauss & Union Station
Paper Airplane (LP)

[ Rounder / LP ]

Release Date: Tuesday 6 December 2016

180g vinyl, includes download card.

Anyone who's paid attention to Alison Krauss' musical career, with and without Union Station, had to wonder what would happen after the unprecedented success of 2007's Raising Sand, her collaboration with Robert Plant. For her, the next logical move was to reunite with US, who had been dormant since 2004's Lonely Runs Both Ways and whose members all had busy solo careers. Given the long layoff, Paper Airplane was produced by US and engineered and mixed by Mike Shipley. According to Krauss, it was harder to complete than any previous album.Thankfully, it doesn't sound like it. It is a melancholy record, its songs largely revolve around themes of trial and perseverance. The title track that opens the record is a lilting country ballad written by Robert Lee Castleman and informed by Krauss' own recent life experiences. Her vocal is wrenching; it's utterly vulnerable in expressing love's loss, yet it's steely in its resolve, recognizing an eventual emergence. Paper Airplane is very polished -- pristine, even -- but there isn't an extra thing on it. It feels organic and authentic, allowing plenty of room for the emotional power in these songs to come forth. Union Station proves once more that it is a contemporary bluegrass outfit that makes no concession to contemporary country music. - AllMusic


1 Paper Airplane
2 Dust Bowl Children
3 Lie Awake
4 Lay My Burden Down
5 My Love Follows You Where You Go
6 Dimming of the Day
7 On the Outside Looking In
8 Miles to Go
9 Sinking Stone
10 Bonita and Bill Butler
11 My Opening Farewell