Glad Rag Doll (Deluxe Edition)

Glad Rag Doll (Deluxe Edition) cover
$38.00 Out of Stock
2-6 weeks
add to cart more by this artist

Diana Krall
Glad Rag Doll (Deluxe Edition)

[ Verve / CD ]

Release Date: Thursday 4 October 2012

This Deluxe Edition of Diana Krall's extraordinary album, 'Glad Rag Doll', features a total of four bonus tracks, including alternate takes and other songs not seen on the standard release.

Diana Krall's extraordinary album, 'Glad Rag Doll', is an exhilarating and adventurous exploration of new sounds, new instrumentation and new musicians.

Working for the first time with renowned producer T-Bone Burnett and engineer Mike Piersante, Diana revels in a fresh sonic playground captured in the vivid grain and deep resonant focus of analog tape. And, as you would expect, the distinguished cast of remarkable players assembled by T-Bone complements Diana's piano contribution, at an 1890s Steinway upright, perfectly.

As ever with a Diana Krall record, her distinctive feel and unique sense of time is crucial. She has established a new-found and exciting rhythmic rapport with drummer Jay Bellerose and bassist Dennis Crouch that has let loose some of her most joyous piano playing heard on record to date.

'Glad Rag Doll' reveals itself at that remarkable vanishing point in time where all music; swinging, rocking and taboo, collide with songs of longing, solace and regret. All are made new again in a vaudeville of Diana's own imagining. It is at once a major departure and a natural progression for the gifted musician. Diana simply calls the album, "a song and dance record."


1. We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye
2. There Ain't No Sweet Man That's Worth the Salt of My Tears
3. Just Like a Butterfly That's Caught in the Rain
4. You Know I Know Ev'rything's Made for Love
5. Glad Rag Doll
6. I'm a Little Mixed Up
7. Prairie Lullaby
8. Here Lies Love
9. I Used to Love You But it's All Over Now
10. Let it Rain
11. Lonely Avenue
12. Wide River to Cross
13. When the Curtain Comes Down
14. As Long as I Love
15. Glad Rag Doll (Alternate Version)
16. Garden in the Rain
17. There Ain't No Sweet Man That's Worth the Salt of My Tears (Alternate Version)

The lyric video for "Wide River to Cross" (via YouTube).