Rework: Philip Glass Remixed

Rework: Philip Glass Remixed cover
$40.00 Out of Stock
2-4 weeks
add to cart

Rework: Philip Glass Remixed
Various Artists

[ Orange Mountain Music / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 9 November 2012

This item is currently out of stock. We expect to be able to supply it to you within 2 - 4 weeks from when you place your order.

Philip Glass, one of America's most esteemed composers, is the subject of REWORK_Philip Glass Remixed, a two-disc album of remixed Philip Glass works.

The idea for REWORK came together during a conversation between Philip and his friend and new collaborator Beck. The pair recruited producer Hector Castillo (David Bowie, Bjork, Lou Reed) to help assemble a collection of remixes of Glass' works by a list of critically acclaimed artists including Beck, Tyondai Braxton, Amon Tobin, Cornelius, Dan Deacon, Johann Johannsson, Nosaj Thing, Memory Tapes, Silver Alert, Pantha du Prince, My Great Ghost and Peter Broderick.

The remix project joins in the celebration of Glass' 75th birthday season, which features performances and events across the globe encompassing every facet of the composer's decades-long career as a preeminent American composer - including opera, chamber music, orchestra music, dance and theatre events.

"I'm interested in what happens to music when other people use it. Whereas there are composers who don't like anyone to touch their music, I think people should because they do things I can't think of." - Philip Glass


Disc 1:
1. Music In Twelve Parts Part 1 - My Great Ghost
2. Rubric Remix - Tyondai Braxton
3. Knee 1 Remix - Nosaj Thing
4. Alight Spiral Snip Philip Glass Remix - Dan Deacon
5. Warda's Whorehouse Inside Out Version - Amon Tobin
6. Etolie Polaire: Little Dipper - Silver Alert
7. Floe '87 Remix - Memory Tapes
8. Opening From Glassworks - Cornelius / Tracklising

Disc 2:
1. NYC: 73-78 - Beck
2. Protest Remix - Johann Johannsson
3. Mad Rush Organ Remix - Pantha Du Prince
4. Island Remix - Peter Broderick

Listen to Amon Tobin's rework of Warda's Whorehouse via Youtube