The TANZA, Stebbing & Zodiac Years

The TANZA, Stebbing & Zodiac Years cover
$26.00 In Stock add to cart more by this artist

Mavis Rivers
The TANZA, Stebbing & Zodiac Years

[ Ode Records / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 1 November 2013

The release on CD for the first time of Mavis Rivers' early New Zealand recordings for the TANZA and the Stebbing labels transports you back to the dawn of recorded music in Aotearoa.

During the New Zealand years of her career, Mavis became one of our most prolific and versatile recording artists covering pop, jazz, novelty, country and western and swing genres among her 53 released tracks on 78 rpm, long before the advent of albums. Mavis's first recording was released only weeks after Pixie Williams' revolutionary 'Blue Smoke' single.

Frank Sinatra once described Mavis as having the purest voice in jazz and she was the second signing to his newly-formed Reprise record label in 1960, after recording with Capitol Records from 1958.

MAVIS RIVERS - The TANZA, Stebbing & Zodiac Years: historically important, musically essential.


1. I'll String Along With You
2. Dear Hearts and Gentle People
3. Canadian Capers
4. Candy and Cake
5. Let's Do It Again
6. Choc'late Ice Cream Cone
7. Columbus Stockade Blues
8. Isa Lei
9. Fijian Holiday
10. How High the Moon
11. My South Sea Island Dream
12. Farewell Samoa
13. Mixed Emotions
14. Manhattan
15. Come to Me
16. The Maori Way
17. If Teardrops Were Pennies
18. There's Always Red Roses
19. Of Course You Couldn't Know
20. Guy is a Guy
21. S'Wonderful
22. Wishin
23. Kiss of Fire
24. Button Up Your Overcoat
25. Noodlin' Rag
26. My Sugar Is So Refined
27. All of Me
28. Promises