Cheek To Cheek

Cheek To Cheek cover
$24.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Tony Bennett & Lady Gaga
Cheek To Cheek

[ Interscope CD / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 19 September 2014

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 1 - 2 weeks.

Cheek To Cheek features classic jazz standards sung by Lady Gaga and Tony Bennett in a combination of vocal duets and solo performances. From the title track to "But Beautiful" to "I Won't Dance", the record's duets showcase the chemistry between the two artists, who span 60 years in age. As Bennett says, "What I really love about being a jazz singer is that jazz artists are very creative, very honest, from phrase to phrase" and Lady Gaga adds, "We wanted to make something that sounded perfect because of the quality of the emotion… the honesty". Cheek To Cheek also features the Lady Gaga solo "Lush Life" accompanied by Tony Bennett's solo of "Sophisticated Lady". The two songs complement each other, as Lady Gaga explains, "I loved making 'Lush Life', Tony mentored me emotionally through the process", and Tony Bennett adds, "I sang 'Sophisticated Lady' to answer her on 'Lush Life', and because Duke Ellington wrote it, who collaborated with Billy Strayhorn, the writer of 'Lush Life'". Recorded in New York City, Cheek To Cheek took over a year to complete and features jazz musicians associated with both artists including members of Bennett's quartet, Mike Renzi, Gray Sargent, Harold Jones and Marshall Wood as well pianist Tom Ranier. Jazz trumpeter Brian Newman, a long-time friend and colleague of Lady Gaga appears on the album as well with his NYC based jazz quintet. Jazz soloists on selected tracks include tenor saxophonist Joe Lovano, trumpeter George Rabbai and flautist Paul Horn, who passed away in July.


1. Anything Goes
2. Cheek To Cheek
3. Don't Wait Too Long
4. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
5. Nature Boy
6. Goody Goody
7. Ev'ry Time We Say Goodbye
8. Firefly
9. I Won't Dance
10. They All Laughed
11. Lush Life
12. Sophisticated Lady
13. Let's Face The Music And Dance
14. But Beautiful
15. It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
16. On A Clear Day (You Can See Forever)
17. Bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered - Live From Jazz At Lincoln Center, New York / 2014
18. The Lady Is A Tramp