Project Haydn 2032 - Vol. 4 'Il distratto'

Project Haydn 2032 - Vol. 4 'Il distratto' cover
$37.00 Low Stock add to cart

Project Haydn 2032 - Vol. 4 'Il distratto'
Il Giardino Armonico, Giovanni Antonini

[ Alpha / CD ]

Release Date: Tuesday 8 August 2017

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 4 - 7 business days.

The fourth volume of the Haydn2032 project thrusts into the limelight one of the most important stock characters in the theatre of sounds and words, the Kapellmeister, and explores some glamorous and (in)glorious moments in the career of Maestro Haydn. It features three symphonies by the 'Shakespeare of Music' - one of which is even associated with an actual play. This bears the title 'Sinfonia in C. per la commedia intitolata Il distratto' (the name of the play soon became the symphony's nickname) and consists of an overture, four entr'actes, and a finale to be played at the end of the performance. Also on this disc is a large-scale buffo scene by his colleague Cimarosa. Il maestro di cappella is a witty and ironic parody, in which a member of the 'old school' of musicians tries to improve the ensemble playing of his orchestra. To his chagrin, the players do react, but in extremely undisciplined fashion: they are distracted, make false entries and disagree musically . . . (from a text by Christian Moritz-Bauer).

"Il distratto, offers vivid readings of three symphonies in which (as, admittedly, in many a Haydn symphony) the unexpected is constantly expected...Riccardo Novaro immaculately gauges the pendant, Cimarosa's subversive scena Il maestro di cappella." Sunday Times

"As in the previous volumes, the orchestral playing is breathtaking in its accuracy -the sort of Haydn playing you dream of…this may well become the period-instrument Haydn cycle by which all others are measured." Gramophone Award WINNER 2017 - Orchestral


Haydn: Symphony No.60 in C major, HOB.I:60 Per la commedia intitolata
Il Distratto'
1 I. Adagio - Allegro di molto
2 II. Andante
3 III. Menuetto - Trio
4 IV. Presto
5 V. Adagio - Allegro
6 VI. Finale - Prestissimo

Haydn: Symphony No.70 in D major, HOB.I:70
7 I. Vivace con brio
8 II. Andante
9 III. Minuetto (Allegretto)
10 IV. Finale (Allegro con brio)

Haydn: Symphony No.12 in E major, HOB.I:12:
11 I. Allegro
12 II. Adagio
13 III. Finale: Presto

Cimarosa: Il maestro di cappella
14 Sinfonia
15 Recitativo 'Se mi danno il permesso'
16 Aria 'Questo é il passo dei violini'
17 Recitativo 'Bravi! Bravissimi!'
18 Aria 'Ci sposeremo fra suoni e canti'
19 Recitativo 'Vi ringrazio, o miei signori'

HAYDN 2032 - Volume 4 "Il Distratto" by Il Giardino Armonico, Giovanni Antonini