Bach: Well-Tempered Clavier I BLU-RAY

Bach: Well-Tempered Clavier I BLU-RAY cover
$40.00 Low Stock add to cart more by this artist

Bach: Well-Tempered Clavier I BLU-RAY
András Schiff (piano)

[ Naxos Blu-ray / Blu-ray ]

Release Date: Friday 6 March 2020

Should this item be out of stock at the time of your order, we would expect to be able to supply it to you within 4 - 7 business days.

Johann Sebastian Bach was undoubtedly the greatest musical thinker of his age. Dubbed 'the Old Testament of music' by the conductor and pianist Hans von Bülow, The Well-Tempered Clavier is acknowledged to be one of the most significant works ever written for the keyboard. Each of these 24 preludes and fugues encapsulates its own mood, and Bach's delight in mixing technical strictness with freedom of expression has made this work an indispensable element of Western culture for centuries. Sir András Schiff is heralded as one of the finest Bach interpreters today, and this first complete performance at the prestigious BBC Proms was summed up as 'stupendous' by The Independent.

"His technical and musical mastery consistently aims high and digs deep, seeming to bypass the piano and penetrating each Prelude and Fugue on its own terms...these two discs constitute The Well-Tempered Clavier's reference video version, a winning combination of the BBC's high production values and Schiff on peak form at full capacity in music that he profoundly cares about." Gramophone

"nearly two hours of Bach played at the highest level … one experiences a transcendent serenity that carries the listener on a journey from the human to the Divine" International Piano

Sir András Schiff Plays the Well-Tempered Clavier, Book I