Drylands cover $24.00 Out of Stock
ETA: 4-7 business days
add to cart more by this artist

Mel Parsons

[ Cape Road Records / CD ]

Release Date: Friday 10 April 2015

We don’t have this item in our warehouse or stores at the moment, but the supplier has stock. We should be able to get it to you in 4 - 7 business days from when you order it.

Equal parts lush and dark, 'Drylands' is Mel Parsons' stunning 3rd full length album, and was recorded at Lee Prebble's Surgery studio (The Phoenix Foundation, The Black Seeds), Wellington, in late 2014. Co-produced by Parsons and Irish-Kiwi Gerry Paul, the album is a sonic side-step from her last two releases while remaining true to the singer-songwriters' essence - the telling of a good story.

Hitting the studio immediately after a five week stint on the road, the pair had the ideal pre-recording road-test "it gave us the opportunity to feel out what worked, which songs really connected with audiences" recalls Parsons.

In addition to Ron Sexsmith, other international guests on 'Drylands' include renowned Irish cellist Vyvienne Long (Damien Rice), and ex-Waterboys bassist Trevor Hutchinson on double bass. New York-based New Zealander Andrew Keoghan lends haunting vocals to the mellow retrospective 'Friend'.


1. Far Away
2. Alberta Sun
3. Driving Man
4. Non Communicado
5. Don't Wait (feat. Ron Sexsmith)
6. Far North Coast
7. Good Together
8. Friend
9. Get Out Alive
10. Down So Long
11. First Sign of Trouble
12. Fireworks
13. Another City